AMRG Team

We are a team of researchers from multidisciplinary backgrounds at different stages of academic careers. Our focus in on healthcare research but we collaborate with colleagues in basic science, law and the social sciences at the University and colleagues across the world.  

Our research pages features summaries of projects that students have undertaken as SSCs or independently with the group, during electives. We have affiliated group members based at other academic institutions and collaborators from Europe and Australasia. We support undergraduates, newly qualified doctors and early career researchers get established in research and academia.  

As a group, by coincidence we share a passion for cycling and / or cats (!) and amongst us we speak English, Russian, French, German, Urdu, Danish, Spanish, Bengali, Arabic, Hebrew, Hindi, and Yoruba! We run a monthly journal club where we chat through new papers that have been published. Dr O’Bresail runs an Early Career Researchers group that meets once every 2-3 weeks to share learning, resources and provide support. 

Group Lead: Dr Emily Henderson

Twitter: @dremhenderson 

Email: Emily.Henderson@bristol.ac.uk 


Professor of Clinical Epidemiology – Professor Yoav Ben-Shlomo

Email: y.ben-shlomo@bristol.ac.uk


 CHIEF-PD Trial Manager: Dr Sandra Neumann

Email: sandra.neumann@bristol.ac.uk


Programme Manager: Julia Carey

Email: julia.carey@bristol.ac.uk


CHIEF-PD Administrator: Alison Bamford

Twitter: @bamford_alison

Email: alison.bamford@bristol.ac.uk


 

Senior Research Associate: Dr Mícheál Ó Breasail

Twitter: @M_O_Breasail

Email: micheal.obreasail@bristol.ac.uk


Clinical Research Fellow/Registrar in Geriatric Medicine: Dr Emma Tenison

Twitter: @EmmaTenison

Email: emma.tenison@bristol.ac.uk


Clinical Research Fellow/Specialist Registrar in Neurology: Dr Matthew Smith

Twitter: @dr_mdsmith

Email: Matthew.smith@bristol.ac.uk


Physiotherapist & Research Associate: Danielle Pendry-Brazier

Twitter: @physiodani

Email: danielle.brazier@bristol.ac.uk



Senior Research Associate: Dr Heather Brant

Twitter: @HeatherBrant4

Email: heather.brant@bristol.ac.uk


Clinical Research Fellow/Trust Grade Doctor: Dr Grace Pearson

Twitter: @GraceInvaders

Email: grace.pearson@bristol.ac.uk


 

Intern: Anisha Cullen 

Email: hk21935@bristol.ac.uk


Khadimul Muzhar

Twitter: @KhadimulMazhar

Email: qc20383@bristol.ac.uk


Gabbie Portlock

Email: ic19842@bristol.ac.uk


Collaborators


Consultant Neurologist – Chris Kobylecki

Twitter: @chriskobylecki

Email: christopher.kobylecki@manchester.ac.uk


Jane Alty

Twitter: @janealty1

Email: jane.alty@utas.edu.au


Research Fellow – Dr Tomas Welsh

Twitter: @Tomas_Welsh

Email: tomas.welsh@bristol.ac.uk

https://www.rice.org.uk/


Professor of Urology – Professor Marcus Drake

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MarcusDrakeUrol

Email: Marcus.Drake@bristol.ac.uk


Honorary Associate Professor of Urology – Professor Hashim Hashim 

Email: h.hashim@gmail.com


Professor in Clinical Epidemiology – Professor Celia L Gregson

Twitter: @celiagregson

Email: celia.gregson@bristol.ac.uk

Global Musculoskeletal Health | Bristol Medical School: Translational Health Sciences | University of Bristol


Consultant Stroke Neurologist – Oladotun Abidakun

Email: oladotun.abidakun@uhbw.nhs.uk